How do you know if a product is gluten-free?

First step?

Look for a gluten-free label.

This is the easiest way to tell if a product is gluten-free.

That said, it’s important to understand there are laws in place to maintain the integrity of gluten-free labels, but‍ it’s optional for manufacturers to label a product gluten-free.

Gluten-free labels are not required by law.

While these labels make it incredibly easy for consumers to identify gluten-free options, the process can be costly for manufacturers. Which means…

Some products are gluten-free but aren’t labeled as such.

Also good to note: style and placement of a gluten-free symbol is up to the manufacturer and will vary from product to product.

There is no universal symbol for ‘gluten-free’.

If you don’t see a gluten-free label on a product, you’ll need to investigate the ingredient label. Gluten is most commonly found in wheat, barley, and rye — but also found in many other obscure ingredients. *See list below

If you can’t determine if a product is gluten-free, look for another brand with a gluten-free label.

Gluten is found in:

  • Avena sativa

  • barley

  • brewer’s yeast

  • durum

  • einkorn wheat

  • emmer

  • farina

  • farro

  • graham

  • hordeum vulgare

  • Kamut khorasan wheat

  • malt

  • oats (if not specified GF)*

  • rye

  • secale cereal

  • semolina

  • spelt

  • triticale

  • tritium vulgare

  • wheat

  • wheat berries

Gluten can be found in conventional items such as…

  • Baked goods

  • Beer

  • Breaded foods

  • Cakes

  • Candy

  • Cereal

  • Cookies

  • Cooking spray

  • Crackers

  • Hot dogs

  • Ice cream

  • Pastries

  • Potato chips

  • Processed meats

  • Rice cakes

  • Salad dressings

  • Sauces

  • Sietan

  • Soups

  • Soy sauce

  • Spaghetti sauce

  • Spices

  • Teriyaki sauce

The gluten-free industry has exploded in the past decade.

Not only have products improved dramatically in taste and texture, but also availability. You can find gluten-free items nearly everywhere these days (compared to what it was ten years ago).

FYI: Wheat-free and gluten-free are NOT the same thing.

  • “Wheat-free” may be made from other grains that contain gluten

  • And “gluten-free” may contain wheat in which the gluten has been removed

But no worries! You’ll check for those in the next step.